I’ve read 45 of 100 books on this list: Discourse analysis edition

I’ve been seeing the “I’ve read n of these 100 books” list going around recently on Facebook. Since I’m in the midst of some background reading, and I always wonder what else I should read, it occurred to me that this sort of list could be really useful to me if it were focused on the kind of things that are relevant to my studies. I’m assuming such a list does not actually exist, so allow me to get us started. Please, please leave additional suggestions in the comments.

Bold is for books I’ve read; italics is for books I’ve read part of. Edited volumes are ok, but not single articles — the Facebook game does say “books,” after all. For the most part, I’d like to avoid listing the same author more than once.

So, in no particular order:

  1. Erving Goffman, Forms of Talk
  2. Deborah Tannen, Conversational Style
  3. Wallace Chafe, Discourse, Consciousness, and Time
  4. M. A. K. Halliday, Language as Social Semiotic (or Introduction to Functional Grammar?)
  5. Basil Bernstein, Class, Codes, and Control
  6. Jean Lave & Etienne Wenger, Situated Learning: Legitimate Peripheral Participation
  7. Ron Scollon, Mediated Discourse: The Nexus of Practice
  8. Deborah Schiffrin, Discourse Markers
  9. Douglas Biber, Variation Across Speech and Writing
  10. Mikhail Bakhtin, The Dialogic Imagination
  11. John Sinclair & Malcolm Coulthard, Towards an analysis of discourse: The English used by teachers and pupils
  12. Harvey Sacks, Lectures on Conversation
  13. Norman Fairclough, Discourse and Social Change
  14. Elinor Ochs & Bambi Schieffelin, Developmental Pragmatics
  15. Fred Erickson, Talk and Social Theory

Any thoughts?

Posted in fun, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

