The Joseph Campbell Method of Social Science Research

The Hero's Journey

(Context)


  1. Call to Adventure: These people are doing something interesting, I wonder why.
  2. Supernatural Aid: Goffman / Bourdieu / Foucault will be my spirit guide.
  3. Crossing the Threshold: Will these people let me come work with them?
  4. The Road of Trials: I am collecting data but I don’t know what to make of any of this.
  5. Death & Rebirth: My analysis is not working. Maybe nothing interesting is happening here. This sucks and I am a sucky researcher.
  6. Transformation: Hey, wait a minute. If I look at it this way …
  7. Atonement: I am so smart! I am so smart! S-M-R-T!
  8. Return: Check it out, prof / peer reviewers!
Tagged with:
Posted in fun
One comment on “The Joseph Campbell Method of Social Science Research
  1. annatrester says:

    could not love more! :) (hmm….does this count as a coincidence?)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,071 other followers

